Te Koruru - National Governing Body of Literacy Aotearoa

Te Koruru (the National Governing Body) is responsible for establishing policy and monitoring the effectiveness of the organisation. Te Tumuaki (CEO) is an ex officio member of Te Koruru, and is responsible for the management of the national organisation.


​Norm McKenzie

Te Kaiwhakahaere Māori (Joint Chairperson) 

Ngāti Kahu ki Whangaroa

Norm is Deputy Chair of the Kahukuraariki Trust Board (representing descendants of iwi, Ngāti Kahu ki Whangaroa) and is the Kaihautū for the Southern Initiative, Māori and Pasifika Trades Training in South Auckland under the auspices of Auckland Council. Norm has led small, medium and large sales and marketing organisations in New Zealand and the United Kingdom. Norm was a previous Chairperson of Hato Petera College Board of Trustees until 2011 and also a previous chair of Te Tai Tokerau Māori Party electorate. 

^ back to top

Howard Fancy

Te Kaiwhakahaere Tauiwi (Joint Chairperson) 

Howard brings extensive governance, management and public sector experiences to the Board. He has successfully led major policy reforms and organisational changes. He has worked in both small and large organisations and with a diverse range of community and population groups.

His public sector experiences include ten years as Chief Executive of the Ministry of Education, eight years as a Deputy Secretary for the Treasury and roles as Chief Executive of the then Ministry of Commerce and Acting Chief Executive of the Ministry for the Environment.
He currently chairs the Board of Arts Access Aotearoa and is an external member of several public sector Risk and Audit and Advisory committees. He recently completed a seven year term as a Director of Cognition Education Limited and has also been the Executive Director of the independent Motu Economic and Public Policy research institute.

Since leaving the public sector Howard has also undertaken a number of consultancy services for a wide range of organisations. He holds a MComm (Hons) in economics and BSc (Hons) in Chemistry from the University of Canterbury.

^ back to top

Emily Vaka'uta

Te Koruru Member


Emily is the Chief Financial Officer at Springload Ltd, a chartered accountant and holds degrees in both a Bachelor of Commerce and Administration and Bachelor of Tourism.  Emily has over 20 years experience in financial services with over 10 years spent in hedge funds leading teams across both medium and large (local and global) organisations.  She is passionate about creating pathways for our Māori and Pasifika young people in order for them to achieve success.

Jess Stall

Te Koruru Member

Jess is an author and co-founder of the Kids Book Company and CEO and founding partner in Grow Kaha NZ, a conservation technology company. Jess has a Bachelor of Communication and was VP Product & Experience, Magic Memories Group (USA) a tourism product high growth company where she had responsibility for the US integration project across 70 locations. Jess is Queenstown-based and is the marketing and technology expertise on the board. 

Jo Cribb

Te Koruru Member

Jo has a portfolio career as a director, consultant and researcher. She is Chief Executive of the New Zealand Book Council, a Board member of the Press Council, a Council member of VSA and Chair of the Board of Scots College. She was formerly Chief Executive of the Ministry for Women and a Board member for IHC. She holds a PhD in public policy from Victoria University of Wellington and a PgDip in Management from the University of Cambridge and MA (Distinction) from the University of Canterbury.

Jo works with organisations to develop and execute strategy and find solutions to complex policy and organisation challenges. She has strong links to the Victoria University School of Government, where her research interests include building NGO governance capability. Her doctoral thesis was on NGO accountability and its implications for improving the mechanisms of government contracting with NGOs.

Di Grennell

Te Koruru Member


Don Mann

Te Koruru Member


Jenny Solomon

Te Koruru Member


  ^ back to top